Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The summer knitalong, after a delayed yarn order, is off to a slow start.  I knew it would be a bit slower in the beginning, because that’s where all the tough stuff is.  If you’re feeling like you’re crawling along, be patient and stick with it.  Bit by bit, you’ll get past these fiddly bits and into a better groove.Window raglan incs

As you get started, have you noticed that you end up with “extra” stitches?  (If not, skip this paragraph so I don’t confuse you).  I LOVE that the designer, Joji Locatelli, has written out this beginning section row by row!  In setting up the patterns and raglan increases you can see that there is one stitch at the beginning of the row, one stitch on either side of the raglan markers, and one stitch at the end of the row that is knit on the front and purled on the back.  These stitches will stay there through this whole section but are NOT included on the charts.  So, if you’re following the chart and get to the marker and have one more stitch to knit, that’s because you’re supposed to do your make 1 and then k1 before you slip the marker.  Does that make sense?  Don’t try to make those stitches disappear – you’re not wrong.

The short rows I mentioned in my previous post are now complete, and I can just focus on knitting through the lace pattern as I increase for the raglan shaping.  This is where I can find my groove for a bit, but I’m still working along a bit slower than if I were just knitting stockinette stitch.  Sometimes I have to remind myself to be patient through these slower sections.  Each stitch knit is one more stitch towards the finished project, so just keep knitting!  Winow in progress

