Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This is my kind of “potato chip” scarf!  Lichen ruffles in soft, spiraling semi-circles that require only basic knitting skills – knit, purl, yarn over and bind off.

Lichen-scarf

I have fussed over what to make with this lovely skein of “Pixie” for months.  I wanted a pattern that fulfilled some pretty specific criteria:

1. Easy, but not so easy as to be boring
2. Took advantage of the beauty of the gradient yarn
3. Used almost the entire skein

I tried browsing others’ projects for Freia Laceweight on Ravelry and searching for patterns using 645 yards or less of lace or fingering yarn.  In the end, I found Lichen while browsing projects that were tagged with having used “gradient” yarn.  Ravelry is such an amazing resource!

Pattern: Lichen by Larissa Brown, available via Ravelry Download.  I did the fingering wt version, worsted wt version is available.
Needles: US 5 needles, knit back and forth
Yarn: Freia Fibers Laceweight Wool Ombre, 1 ball (645 yards)

Notes: I decided not to pin out and stretch my scarf during blocking.  I think the little curls at the edges play into the ruffle very nicely.  If I make the worsted version I might spend the time pinning that one out.  This is a lovely pattern and a wonderful variation on the “knit until you run out of yarn” patterns that are super popular right now.  I did, indeed, just keep repeating the semi-circles until I almost ran out of yarn.  I would definitely make this one again!

