Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Of course, I’m posting about finished Christmas gifts in January!  You all know me by now… if something doesn’t make it in time for December 25th, I just keep on going and give when it’s completed.  This one is for a wonderful friend who was living with us for a while last year.  She tolerated our big barking dog and fur-filled house, so she definitely deserves something special!

Can-Can

Pattern: French Cancan by Mademoiselle IC available via Ravelry Download
Yarn: Cormo/Kid Mohair blend by Buckwheat Bridge Angoras, purchased at NY Sheep & Wool Festival, 500 yards.
Needle: US 7, circular needle
Notes: This pattern starts with a garter tab cast on.  If you’re worried about giving it a try, you can find a tutorial, here.  I choose this yarn among all of the yarns at the festival because, not only was it beautiful and a unique blend of cormo & mohair, but it is sustainably made on a small farm in New York.  Buckwheat Ridge raises their own sheep and goats and owns their own mini-mill which is wind and solar-powered.  My friend, Katherine, will love her shawl AND the way in which it was made.

I know it seems like I rave about every pattern I make, but this is another great one!  The core of my knitting projects feature patterns that give you a little bit of something interesting but aren’t over-the-top. A whole whack of garter stitch gave me a relaxing start and just as I was settling into the cabled edging I was almost done!

With this pattern, you can easily adjust for any type or amount of yarn you want to use.  The garter stitch portion uses about half of your yarn.  If you have a small postage or food scale handy you can weigh it as you go to make sure you don’t knit too far.  I had two skeins of yarn, so I knit the garter stitch portion until I had almost run out of the first skein.  It was perfect!

