Tags

, , , , , , ,

Inspire-KitThis is the kit of the season this year!  “Inspire” includes enough yarn to make a hat plus a pom pom to match and the pattern is included on the label.  Mom (Deb) made this sample for us in red and we all really liked how it came out.  The sequins that are woven into the yarn provide just enough sparkle without being garish, and the pom pom is actually really fun (I’m not normally a pom pom person)!

Faux fur is making a comeback and, again, I’m really happy with how it’s coming back.  We’re throwing it in our projects as an accent, rather than an all-over fuzz, and look how cozy it is:Fuzzy-Hat

Mom used this free pattern from Plymouth yarn and one skein each of Berroco Peruvia Quick and Plymouth Heaven.  (Instead of using two strands of a worsted wool as called for in the pattern, she used just one strand of bulky.)

I’ve been having fun with headbands.  In my last post, we highlighted a really pretty lacy headband that Jane whipped up in no time.  Here, I’ve chosen a pair of other patterns – one knit and one crochet – which make up in just a few hours!

Crochet-Headband

Crochet Knotted Headband – I used this pattern/tutorial here, but adjusted the fit as I needed to for my yarn and head.  It’s SO easy, even if you’re nervous about crocheting, it’s a great project.  You can get away with using very little yarn and I completed my second one, once I knew what I was doing, in just 45 minutes.

Calorimetry

Calorimetry Knit Headband – this classic free pattern from Knitty.com is knit in short rows along the long edge.  As a result, if you use a striped or variegated yarn you get a really neat pattern like this smaller one on the bottom, in Plymouth Gina.  The solid one is Berroco Ultra Alpaca, and for both of them I used partial skeins from the scrap bin.

Cabled-Fingerless-Mitt

Last, but not least, this chunky cabled fingerless mitt has been making the rounds through our knitting circles.  Carol taught a class earlier in the fall on making this easy and fast project, and all of the students have been back for more.  This one is also a free pattern and we’ve used yarns ranging from aran weight Homestead, to Vintage Chunky, to Peruvia Quick bulky wool.  Just choose needles in a size to match.

