Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lempster After

I made a big mistake on my Lempster pullover and I decided to fix it.  In the great pro and con list of whether or not to fix, the biggest thing keeping me going was this: my Lempster is a CLASS SAMPLE!  Even though I made it to my size and I’ll be wearing it, for the next few months I wanted it to be a shining example of what you might be making if you take Norah Gaughan’s Lempster class when she visits us in December.  My mistake – of knitting the front motif on the back only, thus reversing the neckline shaping – would be highlighted, since class participants would be focusing on the top and neckline of the sweater.  Not a big deal, maybe, but I really, really wanted to fix it.

I did take photos along the way.  We were experiencing some gloomy weather, though, so I was using a bright craft light to keep my eyes working.  These photos can be enlarged if you click on them, then hit your browser’s “back” button to get back here!

First, I chose where I was going to cut (when I say “cut” I mean, snip one strand and then pick out the row made by that strand – not really like steeking or anything like that).  The pattern on this sweater happens every other row.  I wanted to take out a “knit plain” round where there were no cable crosses to sew.  I chose smack in the middle of the large cable.  Then, I placed a lifeline through the stitches that would be freed up by my snip-and-pick-out action.

Lempster Fix1

Through the different knit, purl and cable textures I just tried to focus on where that one strand was going.  I wasn’t looking at the whole fabric, just the zig-zag that I was going to be pulling out.

I also did the blue strand first, took a break, and then did the pink.

Lempster Fix2

SNIP!  I cut one leg of one stitch in the row I wanted to remove and then started picking it out around the circle.  As I went, I double checked that my lifelines went through the correct stitches on both sides.

Lempster Fix3

Somewhere around one of the sleeves I discovered a weird mistake I made in the knitting itself – a slipped stitch!  How did I do that?!  When the whole row was removed this one stitch was still hanging on.  I had to snip that one also.

Lempster Fix4BOOM!

Lempster Fix5

I turned the top around and started grafting along one of the stockinette portions.  I actually prefer grafting this way, as opposed to kitchener stitch or a variation thereof, where the stitches are sitting on the needles.  When your work is flat you can imitate the stitches you need to see, just like duplicate stitching!  Below, I am connecting the little Vs from one side to the other, creating a new V stockinette stitch in the middle.

Lempster Fix6Lempster Fix7

Here is where photos fail me a bit.  I had a hard time getting the hang of grafting the honeycomb cables and had to pull it out once or twice.  I did figure it out but forgot to take photos of what was going on while I was doing it.

In the end, I think it’s a success!  It’s about 98% perfect, I think.  There are a few little things on the back that hit me wrong, although I’m hesitant to mess with it any more.  If the weather cooperates this weekend I might just wear it to Rhinebeck!!

IMG_8120

Lempster before and after

 

Pattern: Lempster, by Norah Gaughan, available free via knitty.com
Yarn: Plymouth Homestead, col. 2, “Taupe Heather”
Size: 40″ size to fit 36″ me, with no alterations!
TAKE A CLASS WITH NORAH!!  If you love this sweater (and I know you’d love to meet Norah) come visit us the first weekend in December!  Click here for details.

