Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s finished, it’s finished!  My latest Finished Object, and perhaps the most gorgeous thing I’ve EVER knit, is this Echo Flower shawl knit in celebration of my little sister’s engagement!  Congratulations, Hannah and Nick!  I was lucky enough to gift it to her in person last week, and am so thrilled that she loves it.

Now, the knitterly details:  Echo Flowers is a beautiful, easy-to-follow pattern, and I can’t say enough good things about it!  Clear charts and a good overview make it accessible to most knitters.  The nupps are a little more advanced, simply because you need to be careful working 7-9 stitches together, but a determined newbie can certainly be successful.  I followed the beading placement recommended by wriggle on Ravelry — check out the neat little pyramids of beads, and the single bead at each point along the edging!  All credit goes to her!  If you’ve never worked with beads before, check out my mini-tutorial over on the WIP Wednesday post for this project.

Project Details:
Pattern
: Echo Flower Shawl, designed by Jenny Johnson Johnen
Size: Shawlette or full-sized shawl options given; this is the full size
Yarn: Lace weight; my shawl used one skein of Cascade Forest Hills
Needles: Size 5 (3.75 mm) circulars, at least 29″ long
Modifications: Only modification is use of beads in place of twisted stitches. 
Notes: Check out more than 3,000 projects on ravelry for color and yarn weight inspiration!  Many are worked in fingering weight and thicker!

