Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Looking for a spring cover-up?  Crank out this stockinette beauty!  A drapy alternative to a shrug, Sanpoku works up quickly, since it’s just 4 rectangles and a trapezoid in stockinette stitch.  Find a decorative shawl pin or hair stick and you’re all set for a night on the town!sanpoku3

 

Project Details:
Pattern: Sanpoku by Norah Gaughan, available for free from Berroco
Yarn: Berroco Modern Cotton, 5 skeins
Needles
: Size 8 (or size to get 20 stitches over 4″ in stockinette)
Size: To fit 38″, finished measurement 54.5″
Special Notes: This cardigan is sized for a particular style – you can see that the finished circumference is much larger than the “to fit” measurement.  You have some flexibility in what size you choose because of this.  

Sanpoku2

This is my first project in Modern Cotton, Berroco’s new cotton blend.  I really enjoyed working with it!  It is smooth, with a nice drape, and slides along metal needles nicely.  This yarn has many plies, which contribute to its stability, but if you aren’t careful you can split them.  I switched from a needle with a dull point to a needle with a sharp point, and I was just fine!  If you’re having trouble, try changing to a needle with the opposite type point from the one you are using.  For some people, a more dull point would be better; for others a sharp point works wonders.  I can’t wait to start my next project in Modern Cotton, I just can’t decide what to choose from my huge to-do list.  I think maybe a little dress for my niece!

