Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’re entering phases 2 and 3 of our Spring KAL, Featherweight! If you’ve worked through the body, you’re already half-done with your sweater, yay!

Click here for an overview of the pattern we are using, and click here for my other WIP blog posts on this project.

Phase two of a top-down sweater involves going back to the sleeve stitches you put on hold and putting them back on your needle.  There are a few little tips and tricks to getting this done in an easy way.

  • Decide what needle you are going to use for the sleeve.  The circumference might be too small for a 16″ circular – do you Featherweight-underarmwant to use double pointed needles?  I’m going to use the same needle I used for the body of my sweater and use Magic Loop to get around the circle.
  • Pick up all the stitches you left on your holder/scrap yarn.  Do not remove the scrap yarn until you have all of your stitches on the needle!  If your yarn is really splitty, try using a smaller needle to pick the stitches up, but then immediately transfer it to the correct needle size before you start knitting.
  • The pattern requires that you “pick up and knit X sts along the cast on sts at under arm….” I pick up stitches by inserting my needle through the top of the V of each stitch in the underarm and drawing up a loop.  I always shoot for the number of stitches the designer calls for, but if I have to pick up one or two extra to make it look right, I do it.  I might decrease out those extra stitches at either side of the underarm on the very next round OR I will leave the extra stitches in and add in one more sleeve decrease later.

 

Featherweight also features a wide ribbed collar that is picked up along either side of the fronts.  Hanna Fettig suggests picking up 2 stitches for every 3 rows along these sides.  If your row gauge is drastically different from the required gauge, this ratio might be different. Frequently, I end up picking up 3 stitches for every 4 rows because my rows are more squat than other knitters’ rows.  Pick up these stitches in the space between the edge stitch and the stitch next to it.

Featherweight-collar

Knit away, KALers!  Don’t forget, you are the designer of your own clothing.  If you want to do something other than k1, p1 ribbing for your collar, give it a try!  There are many other projects on Ravelry that have mixed it up a bit.

If you’re enjoying this Knitalong, how about a Mystery Knitalong?
We have a new one starting May 20!

photo (5)

