Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This turned out to be a really fun and fast project!  It took me FOREVER to decide on a yarn, then another day or two to decide on a color.  Once I got started on it, though, I zoomed right through!

lenveloppe4

Project Details:
Pattern: L’Enveloppe by Sally Melville, available for Ravelry Download, here.
YarnPhoenix by Trendsetter Yarns, in Smoke Degrade 937, 6 balls
Needles: Size 10 32″ circular
Version: 36-38″ size at 16 sts = 4″ in garter stitch
Special Notes: This pattern is shaped with short rows, but with no wrapping, and would be a great way to get to know short rows without getting into anything too complicated.  This yarn has been really fun to work with and its construction allows you to use a special trick to avoid weaving in ends.  I joined two balls of yarn using a kind of Russian join, using a yarn needle to pierce through the knitted tube of the yarn and draw one end into another.  (This video shows how to do a real Russian join, which is similar to what I did – I wove the two ends together without making the loop part.)

As I said in my previous post, Sally provides instructions for 5 sizes at 4 different gauges and in 2 stitch patterns.  There is something for everyone, there!  You could choose a lightweight blend for spring, as I did, or a heavier wool for something cozy in the fall.  You could even pull coordinating yarns from your scrap bin and make an amazing stripey version.  I plan on wearing this one to the lecture and book signing a week from today.  Maybe after signing my copy of Knitting Pattern Essentials, Sally will pose for a photo with me!

