Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Garter stitch is the great palette-cleanser of the knitting world.  When I need a break from all things cabled, stranded or textured, the urge to cast on something in garter stitch is hard to resist.  This time, it was a Hitchhiker for which I had wound up a skein of Toil & Trouble sock yarn back in November.

photo (61)

I would pick this up at the end of the day when I couldn’t knit another stitch on my KAL sweater or couldn’t focus on my Rocky Peak Ridge Hat.  It was the most relaxing thing in my knitting world, in a time when I really needed to de-stress.

If I look through my queue, I have several things very, very high on the list that follow this example – simple, stylish, colorplay/stripes.  Some in garter stitch, some in stockinette, but all relaxing.  This might be my agenda for our (hopefully) beautiful Cape Cod Spring.

344_Iwo_7943_small2

Iwo – from Berroco Book #344, in Folio
I WILL be casting on for this next, in two colors of Folio.  Which two colors?
Simple = stockinette stitch with simple shaping
Colorplay = easiest intarsia edge

DSC_1320_small2

photo by Louise Zass-Bangham

Foolproof Cowl – by Louise Zass-Bangham, via Ravelry Download
An excuse to buy some gorgeous sock yarn or luxurious mink (Mimi).  This one is currently a knitalong on Ravelry.
Simple = garter stitch with increase/decrease bias shaping
Colorplay = stripes

leger6_small2

photo by Espace Tricot

Leger drop-shoulder pullover, by Espace Tricot, via Ravelry link to her blog
Oh, so comfortable, year-round style, perfect for Ultra Pima
Simple = stockinette stitch, no shaping, drop shoulder
Colorplay = more stripes

northwoods_squares_4_medium2

photo by Robin Ulrich

Northwoods Coasters, by Robin Ulrich, via download from Interweave Knits
So small, fast, effective – gift stash knitting!
Simple = little garter stitch short rows
Colorplay = patchwork quilt pinwheels

Leilani

Leilani, by the Berroco Design Team
A flattering best-seller before it went out of print, now it’s back for FREE
Simple = stockinette with easy shaping, drape to die for, asymmetrical summer cover-up

Shift

photo by Larissa Brown

Shift, by Larissa Brown
A cozy loop for your neck, in lightweight cotton for the summer, in aran wool for the gift stash
Simple = garter stitch, neat edges, no shaping
Color play = pick your favorite colors, mix them up, switch every two rows, carrying one up the side

