Tags

, , , , , , , ,


drops knitalongThere’s nothing like the feeling of finishing a large project!  Our New Year’s Knitalong is drawing to a close, just as the weather is starting to turn and Spring is on its way.  This will be a perfect jacket-y sweater to wear on these in-between days, where it is too warm for my winter jacket, but still a bit chilly to go without.

KAL Cardigan

Project Details:
Pattern
: DROPS Cardigan, 103-1 “Jacket in Eskimo or Nepal”, available free from DROPS; Ravelry link here; Direct link here.
Size: size 40″ to fit on a 36″ me
Yarn: For the “Nepal” version, 3 hanks of Cascade Eco +, color 2433
Gauge: 17 stitches and 22 rows = 4 inches in stockinette stitch

I hope you’ve all enjoyed knitting along with me!  Why don’t we get together, one last time, for a few group photos?  Sunday, March 30th, at 1pm, let’s all meet up at the shop with our finished sweaters!

Nerd

Notes: I made just a few small style decisions with regard to this pattern.  I did want this to be a looser style, in keeping with the “swing” design, so I made this with 4″ of positive ease.  I modified the bottom edge of the body to include the moss stitch detail that was already featured in the sleeve cuffs and button bands.  This had the added benefit of preventing curling at the edge.  (If you knit the body as written and it’s a little curly, try giving it a good wet-blocking.)

photo (71)

And, finally, I sewed the buttons a little differently than shown in the photo on the pattern.  They’re closer to the edge of the front piece, and so my fronts and collar don’t overlap as much.

 photo (70)

A lot of you have asked about our next knitalong, and I’m happy to say I have it all picked out and ready to go. Watch this space for details next week!

Previous posts for this KAL:
Join Us!
FAQ
Swatching
Casting On
Left and Right Fronts
Buttonholes and Sleeves
Collar and Finishing

