Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This past week I finished up two very different hats.  This first one has been a frequent sight in the shop – Celeste’s Rocky Peak Ridge!  My mom got to knit our shop sample and Jane knit one for her daughter, but I still hadn’t made one.  I brought home two skeins of 220 Sport and knit one up.

photo (65)

Pattern: Rocky Peak Ridge Hat, by Celeste Young, available in print at the shop or via Ravelry download.
Yarn: 220 Sport, one skein of each color
Notes: I did get stitch gauge but I honestly didn’t check row gauge, so I do think it’s just a little bit taller/slouchier than intended.  I think it’s cute, though!  This is another great pattern for getting started with colorwork, due to its short stitch repeat around the circumference.  You can also play with color dominance when the background color changes.

This is the second hat and I think it’s hilarious!

photo (66)

Pattern: (Dead) Fish Hat, by available free from knitty.com
Yarn: Encore Worsted, 3 different blues
Notes: This is a really fun pattern for playing with color.  I went for tone-on-tone, but you could use scraps of all crazy colors from your stash, or a bright striping yarn for something more in-your-face.  This one was for a friend’s son and I wasn’t sure if he would like it, so I stuck to sort-of fish colors.  Also, I made it a “live” fish because I found these great buttons that are concave and give a little bit of a 3D effect to the eyes.

Once this was done, I cast on for one more gift hat, which I hope to finish this weekend! Then, it’s on to the spring knits!

