Tags

, , , , , ,

How many of you gave an unfinished project to someone for Christmas this year?  I did!  This scarf was for my stepmother and, given everything at was going on last fall, I didn’t even start knitting it until around the second week in December.  When I “gave” it to her, I had a repeat or so completed.  Now, it’s a Valentine’s gift.

photo 4 (1)

Pattern: Dryad, cable scarf by Jared Flood, available for download via Ravelry
Yarn: Berroco Voyage, 5 skeins, color 4001
Notes: This scarf pattern features a seed stitch border, a wide center cable with smaller-scale twists on either side.  This is a wonderful pattern for a chart-reader, since that’s all you need to keep going.  I didn’t even print it out and used my iPad only to reference where to cross.  You could make this scarf any length you wish, though the pattern gives you three length options so that you can calculate how much yarn you might need.  I kept going until I ran out of the 5th skein.

photo 3 (2)

I would love to cozy up to another one of these in a beautiful shade of Ultra Alpaca or Eco Wool.  I don’t know if it’s reasonable to expect that I would get to it in the near-future, but it’s on the to-do list!  It was nice to pick up a cabled project after a long break from all of the twisting and turning.  And as soon as I bound this one off, I mixed things up again and cast on for an almost-plain garter stitch scarf!

photo 5

