Tags

, , , , , ,


Transitions hold the promise of a new beginning.  There’s probably an underlying meaning to why we chose the time between Christmas and New Year’s Day to move the shop.  On the one hand, it is ideal for our customer base to get to know our new location during our high season.  On the other hand, moving between Christmas and New Year’s Day is crazy!  I couldn’t think of a better way to start the new year, though, than to reopen with a fresh and exciting shop.

I am a very, very lucky person.  2013 was full of ups and downs, for sure, but I have the best people in my life that make everything happen for me.  All of my family, friends and Carol and Jane make sure I have everything I need and time to take care of myself (and knit!).  Wrapping up the year by relocating only highlights how much all of these people do for me and Sage Yarn.  David and my husband, Matt, packed and unpacked our Budget truck twice, AND took down, cleaned up, cut and hung all of the slat wall over the course of just two days.  It’s unbelievable!

While the new shop will be revealed shortly, today is the day I got started on my New Year’s Knitalong 2014 sweater!

photo (39) Ok, so I only *just* got started this morning over my coffee, but I’ll get a bit more done tonight when I get home.  Here are a few things I’ve noticed about getting started with the back of this sweater:  (Here’s a link to the pattern.)

  1. The pattern has you keep the first and last stitch in garter stitch.  The only reason I can imagine for doing this is for ease in seaming, if that kind of thing makes it easy for you to seam.  I use mattress stitch to seam, and prefer to just seam normal stockinette stitch, so I’m skipping this part of the instruction.  I am doing my bottom edge, then continuing in stockinette stitch with side shaping.
  2. Speaking of the bottom edge, I’m changing mine a little bit.  The pattern has you knit two rows (one garter stitch ridge), then knit in ribbing for a few rows, before changing to stockinette stitch.  I’ve decided to knit in moss stitch – the same stitch as the front bands – for a couple inches at the bottom edge of my sweater. The garter ridge and ribbing is probably just there to prevent the edge from curling, and the moss stitch would fit the look of the sweater, while also preventing curling.  When I get to the fronts, I’m going to have to figure out how to match up the moss stitch across the seam, but it won’t be hard.

I’m excited to have some manageable knitting on the needles again, since all of my other projects are colorwork and a bit less portable.  I’ll be working on this one at our first knit-night at the new shop, Tuesday 5:30-7:30!  I hope you enjoy casting on for your own and let me know if you have any questions!  Don’t forget, our first meeting in person will be at the new shop on Sunday, January 12th 1-3pm.

kitty

Helper kitty is helping

