Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

*Friendly reminder – yarn requests for the KAL due today!  Email me, sageyarn at gmail.com*

This week I have two finished projects from my Mom, the speedy knitter.  I dropped off some of our new, sparkly yarns last weekend and this is what came back to me!  I think these both would be great either as gifts or something special to wear to a holiday party (New Year’s Eve?).photo (33)

Pattern: Fascinate Scarf, free from Berroco
Yarn: 2 balls of Trendsetter Yarns Kid Chic, 1 ball of Trendsetter Yarns Luna
Notes: We use this simple, yet effective, pattern from Berroco for all sorts of yarns.  In this case, we held the Luna and Kid Chic together for the two plain knit rows (Rows 1 & 2) and used only the Kid Chic for the drop stitch rows (3 & 4).  It’s an easy and almost mindless knit for those nights when you just can’t stand to pay attention to a pattern.  I purchased coordinating colors of the Kid Chic and Luna for just this kind of project!

Lacy Cowl

Pattern: Baby Alpaca Grande Openwork Textured Cowl, free from Plymouth Yarn
Yarn: Great Adirondack Yarn Company, Clouds, 1 skein
Notes:  This is another wonderfully simple pattern that we use for all different kinds of yarns.  It’s originally written for a bulky alpaca yarn, but made up in this fluffy, sparkly mohair, it’s a light-as-a-feather accessory.  Great Adirondack specializes in hand-dyed yarns and we have 5 lovely colorways of Clouds in stock.

There are just 17 knitting/crocheting days until Christmas!  I have a Secret Santa gift to start and hopefully you’ll see a FO from me next week.  Instead of knitting I’ve been ordering yarn and fixtures for our big move to the new store.  It’s an even trade, I think.  New yarn is pretty exciting!  And some of my Christmas knitting can easily wait until after Christmas when I see those members of my family and friends.  I hope you all have been well and are knitting & crocheting happily away in your warm homes!

