Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

PHEW!  A day like today really reminds you how amazingly warm wool mittens can be!  This pair of Herringbone Mittens is a relatively quick colorwork project in worsted weight yarn.  If I have time, I’d like to make them in a few other colorways for the gift stash.photo (30)

Pattern: Herringbone Mittens with Poms, by Elliphantom, Elli Stubenrauch, available free from Ravelry.
Yarn: Cascade 220, less than one skein each of two colors
Needles: Knitter’s Pride Karbonz interchangeable needles, via magic loop method
Notes: I knit this pattern as written, and opted not to include the drawstring and poms.  I really enjoyed knitting a different kind of thumb than my usual mitten and love the combination of the stripes with the herringbone.  These mittens are reversible, since the pattern is the same on the back and the palm, and the thumb is centered on the edge.  These two colors were scrap balls from a previous project, so it’s hard to say for sure, but I think you could get two pairs of mittens from one ball of each color.

tangled yarn

“Which one of you did this?”

I have had some Christmas Requests trickle in this week and at least one of them need to be started NOW to get done in time.  Doesn’t that always happen?  So I may be employing some of my sneaky knitting strategies to get everything done between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

This week my husband had to wake up a little bit early to get to work early, so I got up with his alarm and enjoyed a little bit of knitting & coffee time.   It’s certainly hard to resist the urge to stay in bed this time of year, but I made some good progress in that extra hour.  I also have two different projects going – a portable project and one that isn’t quite so portable.  The portable project travels back and forth to work and my mom’s house for dinner, and the other project stays at home for TV time.  Tonight I have the pleasure of casting on for something new for my portable project!

 

Are you feeling a time crunch this week?  As things get more stressful just remember – your loved ones will still be cold in January!  There’s nothing wrong with an extended holiday season (in my humble opinion).

