Tags

, , , , , , ,

drops knitalongHave you ever participated in a knitalong?  This past summer my friends Kathy, Carole and I had a knitalong together, to work our way though what we thought would be a slightly challenging pattern.  We all knit the same sweater, in our own colors and got together every few weeks to touch base and hang out.  I’ve just blocked my sweater – blog post to come!

When it came time to pick a new project for our next knitalong we couldn’t help but ask more friends to join us!  By working together, we can keep each other motivated and help each other out if we get stuck on something.  If you’d like to knit along with us,  we would LOVE to have you!  Here are all the vital stats and some tips for getting organized.

Drops pattern

Timeline: Choose your yarn (if you need me to order it) by December 8th.  Cast on New Years Day, January 1 and Finish by February 28.

Pattern: DROPS pattern 103-1, Jacket with A-shape, available free online.  Here’s the Ravelry link, and here’s the direct link.
Yarn: This pattern is written for two different gauges, so you have some flexibility when choosing a yarn.
Option 1: 11 sts x 15 rows = 4″ square in stockinette stitch.  Try Peruvia Quick or Vintage Chunky
Option 2: 17 sts x 22 rows = 4″ square in stockinette stitch.  Try Eco Wool or Lamb’s Pride Worsted.
  • For anyone who wants to participate – I’ll order your color of choice in any of these four yarns prior to our start date.  Just send me an email with the color you’ve chosen and how many skeins you would need by December 8th so that we all get our yarn in time.  I will be restocking these yarns for our move, but they are a little low right now, so I’ll place any special order we need to place.  I’ve already received my shade of Eco Wool and I can’t wait to cast on!
  • When choosing what size to make, take into account how you want to wear this sweater.  Is it going to be a heavier jacket-like sweater or a lighter indoor sweater?  A jacket will need more ease (how much larger it is than your actual bust measurement) than a lighter sweater.  I’m making a 40″ sweater for a 36″ me and since I’m cold ALL THE TIME it will probably be both indoor and outdoor.
  • Next – print out a copy of the pattern and circle all of the numbers for your size.  Check out the sweater schematic to make sure you like all of the measurements – I frequently adjust the body length.  Make a note of what you want to change in the appropriate spot in the pattern.
We hope you’ll join us!  Virtual friends can check in with us from a distance via the blog or Ravelry and local friends can get together at the shop!  Let me know what you think!
