Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Success!  After years and years in my queue, I have finally made a Calorimetry!  I’m happy to report that it was fun, fast and only used scraps of a worsted weight from my stash.  I’ll be casting on for another one of these for my in-store knitting and hopefully I’ll have more than one for my gift stash.

photo (26)

Pattern: Calorimetry, by Katheryn Schoendorf, available for free from Knitty.com
Yarn: Woolly worsted weight scraps in a pretty blue heather
Button: A nice vintage shell button from our selection from Maureen Gallagher, here in the shop.

photo (27)

I put this one my wet-hair head to take this photo and I can’t bring myself to take it off.  So cozy!  I have a list of my favorite characteristics of this pattern:

  1. It’s fast!  I tallied my knitting time for you, so that you may be able to gauge whether you wanted to make this as a quick project, also.  I’m not an award-winning speed-knitter and I get interrupted a lot.  It took me 2.5 hours total.
  2. The short-row, side to side shaping is easy (no photo (24) rapping or picking up wraps or anything scary) and make using a striping yarn really fun!  Although I didn’t use a striping yarn for this one, I will use Gina for the next one and I’ll show you how fun it looks.
  3. It’s flexible!  It’s knit in ribbing so it is stretchy and cozy.  You don’t have to guess where to put a buttonhole because the short row shaping leaves a row of holes along the center of the headband.  This means you can button it as tight or as loose as you want – which also means you don’t have to guess how big to make it for the people on your list!
  4. You could embellish this to suit your needs or the style of your gift-recipient.  How about a decorative button or crocheted flower on the side?!

If you need a fast pattern, I hope you give Calorimetry a try!  There are a lot of patterns that use simple short row shaping such as this to create beautiful effects.  If you get bitten by the short-row bug, check out Wingspan, Color Affection or Dreambird.

Next up: Herringbone Mittens!

