Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This week I have to report very little holiday progress, my friends.  I’m not sorry at all because I was finishing up some gifts for Celeste!  Her baby shower was yesterday and I was very happy to hand over some Peppermint Hats and Baby Surprise Jackets.  I have chosen a quick holiday gift to start tonight, though, so read on!

photo (14) photo (15)

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket, by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Yarn: Yellow/Blue is handspun, Green/Gray is Zauberball Crazy col. 2204, 1 ball
Notes: I did the pattern as written, on size US 3 needles.  On the handspun version I picked up stitches along the neckline and knit a few rows of garter stitch, while for the Zauberball version I kept my buttonband stitches live, picked up around the neck and did a i-cord bind off.  I blogged about the handspun BSJ as part of the finish-along, but you’ll notice it was missing buttons!

Peppermint Hats

Pattern: Peppermint Hat, by Celeste Young
Yarn: Classic Elite Fresco, 1 hank of each color got me two hats plus leftovers.
Notes: I did the pattern as written for the smallest size for the larger of the two hats.  For the smaller one, I took out one pattern repeat. You can see I reversed the Main and Contrast colors between the two, just for fun.  In this photo I have them folded over, so they look a lot smaller than they actually were.

Peppermint stripes2 Peppermint stripes1

STARTING TONIGHT!

Tonight I am going to knit a Calorimetry.  This headband/earwarmer was published on Knitty.com in 2006 and currently has over 16,000 projects on Ravelry.  Despite the fact that I’ve always wanted to make one, I still haven’t.  Here we go!  I’ll report in with how long it took so that you can gauge if you want to crank some out yourself.  If short-rows aren’t your thing, I’ve also made this headband/earwarmer in the past, and it was super easy and fast!

