Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Well, I didn’t quite finish my stocking for a FO Friday post, but here it is for a Sunday holiday post!  This is my first holiday FO of the year and it’s also a “last” for me.  This is a commission for a customer for her granddaughter, Lilly.  With our new shop and all of the awesome stuff we have planned for 2014 and beyond, I won’t have time for commissions anymore.  Here you go Lilly, I hope you love it forever!

stocking 2

Pattern and yarn: Santa with Stocking, Holiday Traditions Stocking Kit from Accessories Unlimited, Candide wool yarn included

These stockings come in two styles – some that are stranded knitting and some that are picture knitting, or intarsia.  This kit featured intarsia, so it was knit flat and seamed up the back.  The only alteration I make with these is to join to knit in the round after completing the intarsia portion.  The pattern calls for making the heel in two halves to accommodate the seam and it’s just too fiddly for me.

Coming up next: something small and fast that makes me feel like a knitting machine!  Did you all finish 3 or 4 projects while I was trying to get this one done?

