Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Is there a baby boy on the way?  YES!  Not mine, though.  My best friend is having a baby boy in January and man, oh man, am I behind on my to-do list for her (and him).  I decided to start here, with one of her very own designs: DSCN1779_medium2

 

Pattern: Peppermint Hat by Celeste Young, available in Interweave Holiday Gifts Special Issue 2012, or via pdf download.
Yarn: Classic Elite Fresco

I knit this once before, for myself, last year.  This is the absolute perfect pattern for beginning colorwork!  It will help you get into the groove of learning to strand your yarn across the back of your work, without overwhelming you with a super complicated design.  Just a few chevrons, then you switch to even knitting on the pain stripes.  In fact, I am running this one as a beginning colorwork class Oct. 24 & 31.

If you’d love some quick tips and tricks for this pattern, and other stranded colorwork, check out Celeste’s blog post from last year, when she finished up her third Peppermint Hat.photo(2)

I love Classic Elite Fresco so much  – it is light, warm and has a slight angora halo for the softest, next-to-the-skin garments.  Between Fresco and Frog Tree’s Alpaca Sport, all I want to do is knit in sport weight!

Since the pattern is written for three sizes, I can make this little hat to fit a January baby perfectly!

