Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week, I decided to take off for a visit to Trumpet Hill…Fine Yarns & Accents in Albany, NY, for Celeste’s book release party.  We have been talking a LOT about Knits of a Feather and we can’t wait to have her here at Sage Yarn next weekend!  I already have my copy signed – get yours signed next Friday night from 5-7pm or take a class with her Saturday or Sunday!

photo (15)

My first Finished Object from the book (and my first since the Finish-Along ended) is the Feathered Nest Cowl.  Since I was able to get away from work and housework for a few days, I knit it in just 24 hours.

Pattern: Feathered Nest Cowl from Knits of a Feather, by Celeste Young
Yarn: Handspun Cashmere from From the Mountain – promoting the well-being of Afghan women who are heads of households.
Notes:  I did the smaller size, since I wanted to make this a one-skein project, and it’s just right.  I did have about an ounce of yarn left and so I could have done one or two more repeats of the pattern.  I did the provisional cast on and 3-needle bind off as written.

Celeste will be teaching a workshop on the techniques used in this pattern, next weekend. Click here for workshop descriptions and give the store a call to sign up!  508-457-9513

I had a good time getting into the pattern. It’s the kind of cable where I just check in every few rows to make sure all the knits and purls are where they are supposed to be, and otherwise I can relax.

Feathered-Nest-Cowl-2

The yarn is my absolute, number one, most favorite cashmere on my list.  From the Mountain is new to the market and has a wonderful story behind it – click through to their website to read a biography of the founder and how this yarn came to the market.  The cashmere is raised, processed, and handspun in a cottage industry by women heads of households in Afghanistan.  Not only was it a pleasure to knit, it held up to its first in-public wearing and didn’t show the slightest sign of pilling.  Even after being manhandled here in the store, it is just as perfect as when I first wound the ball.  This one is a winner!

