Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For this week’s WIP I offer you something crocheted!  I do tend to neglect my crochet ambitions in favor of my knitting, but this project is just too much fun.

Bobbling Along2

This gorgeous version crocheted by Celeste

Pattern: Bobbling Along Aran Tote, by Celeste Young, available for free on Ravelry
Yarn: Cascade 220 wool, between 4 and 5 skeins, we’ll see
Hook: Knitter’s Pride Dreamz, US size H

Bobbling-Along1

Jen’s slightly less-skilled version

Sometimes I get a little frustrated with patterned crochet because I need to be constantly referring to the instructions for what to do next.  In my line of work (and at home!), I need to be able to memorize things and pick up/put down my work quickly without getting confused.  This pattern is perfect!!!!  Not only is it well written, (I know, I’m Celeste-biased, but it just IS) it is the kind of pattern that you can settle into and repeat over and over after just a little bit of work.  It looks a lot harder than it really is and is a wonderful way to practice your crocheted cables.

I am using a crochet hook from my Knitter’s Pride Dreamz set that I bought and I have to say, it is definitely making me happy.  I am usually a “Susan Bates” style hook person, and this is a “Boye” style hook, so I had to get used to it at first.  These hooks are smooth without being too slippery, just the right length, and have a nice “point” for getting into the stitches.  Since there are no grooves or grips, they would be suitable for short rows of Tunisian crochet also.

So far, I’m having a lot of fun!  There are a lot of nice finished projects made from this pattern on Ravelry.  Go check them out!

