Every day around the world, bad things happen to good people.  The horrible events of yesterday’s running of the Boston Marathon hit very close to home for many in the Sage Yarn community.  Our thoughts are with you, your friends and your family.

You may know of our family’s connection to the marathon – I was raised in the wonderful town of Hopkinton, the start of the Boston Marathon.  The marathon means a lot to me, despite having never run it.  As a child, it was the exciting day I could walk down the yellow line in the center of the street and watch helicopters circling the air around my house.  But as an adult, I know that it is also a day when people from around the world come together for the common love of a sport and human achievement.  No matter where I am on Patriots’ Day I think of Hopkinton.

It might be selfish to say that I am thinking of how this affects my own life, but I am.  Every day is special and things we can’t control happen around us, bringing an unpredictability to our lives.  I want to make the most of the days I have.  When bad things happen I want to react with good.  I want to do good things for other people, I want to be more patient and understanding with those around me and make people happy.  I hope you do, too.  Though we may not be able to help out in Boston today, take a moment to think about what you can do for others around you in the near future.  We can’t undo what has already happened, but we can make a difference in each others’ lives.  Click through the links below and get involved in some way.  Do good!  Make people happy!

 
Cape & Islands Red Cross (there a blood drive scheduled for tomorrow in Falmouth at the Holiday Inn)
Cape Cod Health Care
The Cape Cod Hunger Network
The Housing Assistance Corporation
Falmouth Service Center

If you need a safe place to de-stress at any point, we have a comfortable seat for you here at Sage.

