Tags

, , , , , , ,

Over the past year this blog has been a fantastic place for us to share what is going on here at the shop.  We can expand on new products, projects we are working on, events, tutorials and tips and tricks in a format that lets us provide you with a lot of detail.  You can check in here whenever you want, subscribe to email updates or subscribe via the rss feed.  But what if you just want quick updates and inspiration?  Social media has provided us with many ways to interact and I’ve been trying out a few new ones!

Pinterest
You may have heard of (or are already using) Pinterest, the virtual, social bulletin board.  Within Pinterest you can bookmark your favorite websites, items you’re shopping for on Amazon, or blog posts by “pinning” them to your bulletin board.  You can categorize your pins for easy browsing later.  Here you can see Sage has different boards for knitting, crocheting and store display ideas.  Pinterest

The most wonderful part about Pinterest is that you can subscribe to other pinners and see what they are pinning.  If you find something you like, you can “repin” it to your board!  I follow some really wonderful knit and crochet designers who pin some very inspirational bookmarks.  Here’s Sage Yarn’s Pinterest board.

Facebook
Facebook is not just for keeping in touch one-on-one anymore!  For the few things I don’t like about Facebook, I really love having a Facebook Page.  The Sage Yarn facebook page is a place where I can post a quick update, link to something fun or a photo, and all of you can comment on it.  You can “like” our page to subscribe to the updates or you can just check in whenever you want.  Lately, I have been posting a lot of photos via Instagram.  Here’s Sage Yarn’s Facebook Page.  Here’s Sage Yarn’s Instagram account.

Facebook copy

Twitter
A twitter account can let you subscribe to updates, same as Facebook, but the users are limited to just 140 characters.  Right now I have the Sage Yarn Facebook page linked up to twitter, so that whatever I post on Facebook is posted to twitter also.  But I also will post just to twitter, if I get a chance.  Here’s Sage Yarn’s Twitter account.

Finding time for it all
Ok.  There are only so many hours in the day.  Even though using all of these things is part of my job description, it’s hard to keep up!  My best advice is to pick one of these things that you enjoy, or use anyway, and stick with it.  But don’t be afraid to try something new like Pinterest or Twitter.  I’ll be staying diverse (without spreading myself too thin) in order to reach as many of you as possible!

