Tags

, , , , , , ,

Snug as a Bug! Hood2

My first FO of 2013 is a late Christmas present for my niece – a hat she can’t pull off and throw on the ground (also known as a hood)!  I love the simple, clean look of the garter stitch that is nicely-shaped to hug a little one’s head.  The stripes in the sample photo were so nice, that I had to echo them in some way in my version.

I hope to get an adorable photo of my gorgeous niece in this little hood, but for now our little gingham bear model will have to do.

Hood1
Pattern: Cool Kid Hooded Hat by Anna & Heidi Pickles, available for free via their blog
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash, worsted weight held double as written in the pattern, 2 balls of pink 894, 1 ball of charcoal 900
Pattern notes: I thought the garter stripes were so nice that I picked up and knit a garter edging around the face instead of k2, p2 rib.  I only just dipped into the second ball of pink, though I’m not sure how much of it I actually used.  I’d estimate 1/3 of the ball.  Maybe I can whip up some mittens with the remainder!

