I have all kinds of feelings swirling around me this winter solstice.  This is one of my most favorite days of the year because, though winter can sometimes seem endless and gray, each day from now until June will be just a little bit brighter.

There are so many celebrations that happen toward the end of the year.  In my family we celebrate Christmas and it is fast approaching!  With only 4 more knitting/crocheting days left before the big day guess how many gifts I have done.  Go on, guess!

I have 1/2 of a gift knit.

But it’s OK!  Is my family not going to love me anymore if I don’t have their handmade gifts done by the 25th?  Are my friends going to abandon me if they don’t get their mittens and hats until January?  No, they aren’t.  And since the world didn’t end this morning, I’ll get moving on all of the things on my list right now!  Everyone who knows me and cares about me knows how busy I have been the past few months and understands.  I’m thinking hard about a different gift-making strategy for next year – just in case things get crazy like they did this year.

How are you doing?  Are you looking forward to New Year’s Day and a new beginning?  Did you accomplish everything on your resolution list from last year?  Are you making out your knitting/crocheting/spinning wish list for 2013?  Please, share in the comments!

