Although I knit and crochet all year, sometimes I don’t get my holiday gifts done ahead of time.  This year is one of those years where the time just flew and, although I got a lot of things done, I’m just not ahead of the game.  So I spent my Thanksgiving weekend making my to-do list for the next month or so.  I have a few rules for making my to-do list and I thought I would share!

Do make a list and prioritize what you really want to get done.

Think about making smaller things, like:

  • accessories -hats, mittens, scarves, cowls, headbands, ear muffs, leg warmers, jewelry, purses/bags
  • things for the home -potholder, napkin rings, tissue box cover, pillows, sachets, doilies, teapot cover
  • or even pets! – felted stuffed bone, catnip toy, felted cat bed

Think about pairing a small knitted or crocheted item with little something store-bought.  How about: a handmade washcloth with some nice, fancy soap; a nice coffee mug and a cozy to go with it; a purchased gift in a handmade drawstring bag.  Purchase a special gift and knit or crochet a little ornament or gift tag to attach to it.

Once your list is made, look through it and be brutally honest.  Pick the most stressful/least fun project and cross it off.   Cross off the afghan, large sweater and anything with a new, complicated technique, unless you’re prepared to spend the bulk of your time on it.

Lastly, if you’re making things for other yarn-lovers they know the stress of handmade gifts better than anyone.  Why not have a New Year’s Eve gift exchange instead of Hanukkah or Christmas?  Celeste and I already know that we will be swapping gifts post-Dec 25th.  That gives me a little bit of time after I’m done with family exchanges to have something extra special for her!

I hope you all are beginning a warm and wonderful holiday season!  Over the next few weeks, Celeste and I will be posting examples of our favorite selections for gift-giving this season. Let us know if you have any questions or comments!

