Tags

, , , , , ,

I finished up my third Peppermint Hat this week, destined to be a store sample over at Trumpet Hill.    This green version used Cascade 220 Sport, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the 100% wool yarn still draped nicely to create the subtle slouchy shape.  It blocked beautifully, too!  I also chose to omit the pompom this time around, hoping that it might appeal to more men.  We’ll see!

In the meantime, I’ve cast on for my own Peppermint Hat.  This is a new experience for me, as I rarely knit the same project more than once (so many projects, so little time).  However, I’m finding that the easy, repetitive colorwork pattern is very soothing and relaxing, especially after a long day of work.  It’s a perfect first-time colorwork project, too!  I took a few minutes to create a video tutorial for two-handed colorwork that I hope you’ll enjoy — check it out below!

Colorwork Tips & Tricks:
-Position the main color on your right, and contrast color on your left.  This helps to minimize tangling.
-Spread out the stitches on the right hand needle before changing colors.  Spread them out nice and wide, at least as far apart as they will be in “real life” off of the needles.
-The Peppermint Hat pattern specifically states that “floats” of the unused color (those horizontal strands across the back of your work) should not be secured in order to keep the hat nice and stretchy.  If your pattern has long floats that do need to be caught, aim to secure every inch or so.
-If you have multiple rounds of floats to catch, take care to do it in a different spot each time so you don’t end of with vertical “gutters” where all the securing lines up!

Be sure to check out our youtube channel, where we will continue to add video tutorials!

