Tags

, , , , ,

I almost started this on our road trip (instead of Shalom) but decided against it.  You might think it was because it would be too much instruction to follow while riding in the car, but secretly (and now publicly) I was afraid I would knit through the ball or two I brought and then have nothing to work on.  It doesn’t make much sense, considering all the yarn I purchased while we were away, but that’s my knitter’s brain getting the best of me.

“What if I run out of yarn?!”

Well, my paranoia aside, this project is SO MUCH FUN!  I don’t think I would have been able to get into the groove with this in the car.  But I did, this past week, while watching Sherlock on pbs.com (go watch it now!).  Now, every time I pick up this wonderful baby blanket I think of Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.  YES!

Pattern: Curlicue Coverlet, from Oat Couture
available in print at Sage Yarn, or via online download
Yarn: Plymouth Encore Colorspun, col. 7745, 8 skeins

The blanket is built in sections, but uses entirely short rows to achieve this look.  You don’t have to knit a section, pick up stitches, and knit another section.  I’m very much enjoying my rows getting shorter and shorter and then knitting all the way across the row and beginning the next section.  I have chosen a long striping colorway of Encore Colorspun, which highlights the changing direction of the knitting.

As you can see, I still have a ways to go.   I am employing some strategies for keeping track of where I am – I have a working photocopy of the pattern to write on and a row counter for clicking as I knit.  I hope to show you a completed blanket soon, and I hope I inspire you to make one!

