Tags

, , , , ,

For a quick, enjoyable, top-down cardigan look no further than the Shalom Cardigan-

Pattern: Shalom Cardigan, by Meghan McFarlane, available for free via Ravelry
Yarn: 1 hank of Cascade Eco +
Needles: US 10.5 circular, Knitter’s Pride Dreamz

In the days leading up to our road trip I had a difficult time deciding what to bring.  I was getting all wound up in picking a project that wouldn’t be especially difficult so I wouldn’t have to watch the pattern too closely.  And maybe one that I could complete in the time I was gone, so that I could feel accomplished!  I settled on Shalom after stalking my sister’s queue for something to make for her birthday.  I had made it once before, and thoroughly enjoyed it!

I love the twisted rib at the yoke, and how all of the increases are hidden within the garter band details.  My pointy Dreamz cirulars helped me get in there to knit through the back of the stitch as easily as the front.

Working with Eco Wool is a joy!  It is a soft Peruvian highland wool (as is Cascade 220) and is slightly bouncy.  With 478 yards per hank you can get a good sized sweater out of two, or a vest/cardigan, such as Shalom, out of one.  Yes – In this whole sweater I only had TWO ends to weave in!

If you love this design, but are worried about the one size listed in the pattern, please click the links in the pattern description for a schematic which will help in making adjustments.  There are also many, many helpful suggestions in the notes of the over 5,000 projects listed on Ravelry (many knitters have even added sleeves!).

