Tags

, , , , ,

In my effort to stay on track with burning my stash and supporting my need for new yarn, I decided to add the new Knit Noro Accessories book to my library.  This little gem is packed with awesome stash-busting projects, and inspiration for new purchases too!  I’d love to knit up a pile of anemone tea cosies, but first I’m busting out the deep stash skein of Mushishi I scored on a visit to DC’s Knit&Stitch=Bliss. Souvenir yarn, anyone?  This will become the Long Lace Scarf by Tanis Gray, a simple yet stunning accessory that I can’t wait to wear.  And it’s FAST.  I mean, REALLY FAST!  I cast on last night, and knocked out over a foot of progress while catching up on TV.  I’m knitting it on circular needles, using the long, sharp points of the Dreamz needles to make my ssk stitches nice and tight.  I have a tendency to stretch out this decrease stitch, and working up near the points is a good way to combat this!

Project Details:
Pattern: Long Lace Scarf, by Tanis Gray
Yarn: Calls for Noro Iro; using Plymouth Mushishi.  Check out these similar striping substitutes: Mochi Plus and Adriafil KnitCol.
Needles: Size 10 (Knitter’s Pride Dreamz Interchangeables)
Special Notes: My yarn is worsted while the pattern calls for super bulky.  I’m getting stitch gauge, but my row gauge is shorter.  I’ll have to knit more repeats of the lace chart if I want to get the same finished length.

In the meantime, I’m dreaming about teapots and planning my holiday knitting (already!)  Other awesome books for balancing your stash/new yarn projects are 60 Quick Knits (now in worsted, sport, and baby versions) and any of the One Skein Wonder series of books! Check them out at Sage if you haven’t already. Treat yourself, and find tons of new inspiration!

