Tags

, , , ,

Every time Aeneas blipped on my radar I loved it more and more.  I first saw it last January at my rep meeting with Andra, then in finished book form at the store.  I queued it on Ravelry, it kept popping up on Pinterest and then Andra was wearing her beautiful gray version when I saw her last…. I couldn’t take it anymore!  A whole year after first seeing it, I HAD to cast on – it totally possessed me.  I don’t even have the wardrobe staples to wear it yet, but I will.  You’ll see me walking around the mall with Aeneas in hand.

I’m enjoying working with Peruvia, especially how its “single-ply” construction lets you see every single color in this blue-green heathered colorway.  Textures pop and, even though it is slightly fuzzy, the fuzz doesn’t obscure the stitch patterns at all.

Aeneas in progress

The construction of this sweater requires you to knit shaped pieces.  I am currently on the right front, which is a big triangle and has a shaping instruction that might be hard to keep on track.  It looks something like this in the book:

“rep dec row (dec at each edge every x rows, 5 times, then every y rows once) 2 times”

Usually, I would be able to easily count my stockinette rows in between decreases, but we’re dealing with moss stitch here – it’s all lumpy bumpy!  So, with the help of a post-it, I used hatch marks to keep track of where I was *inside* of the parenthesis and then marked the completion of the whole repeat on my knitting with a locking stitch marker.  If that wasn’t enough, I was prepared to mark each decrease using different colored markers – one color for the decreases and a second for the repeat.  Using a variety of strategies to keep track of where you are makes for a more relaxing project.  No worries, and no stopping to count rows every time you sit down to work.

Project Details:
Pattern: Aeneas by Norah Gaughan, from Norah Gaughan Vol. 9
Yarn: Berroco Peruvia, color #7160
Needles: Knitter’s Pride Dreamz Interchangeable Needles
Size: 38″ size, without modifications

~ Jen

