Tags

, , , , , ,

We have been so flat-out busy since we reopened, it seems like the only time I have to blog is on snow days!  I owe you KALers another post to keep you going, and I owe all of you lots of updates.  Today is a KAL post and you’ll get an update post by the weekend.

In my last post we talked about orienting ourselves with the right and left fronts.  As you complete your left front you may be wondering, “Where do I put those buttonholes?”  There are many ways to answer this question, but to keep it simple, I’ll tell you what I do.

The pattern says, “Right front piece: Cast on and knit as left front but reverse. In addition remember to bind off for the buttonholes at the front edge – see explanation above.”  The explanation indicates that you should bind off two stitches and then cast them on to complete the buttonhole.  I always finish the side without the buttons first and then use markers or pins to measure where I want my buttonholes right on that piece.

photo (59)

Once I have marked them, I either keep this piece of the sweater with me while I’m knitting the other side, or I measure and write down the placement of the buttonholes in order to complete them on the other side.  To keep them evenly spaced, I will count the rows between them and try to stay within a row or so of this when I knit.

The buttonhole row will look like this:
RS: Work x stitches in seed stitch (according to your size/yarn), bind off two stitches, work the rest of the row in pattern.
WS: Work in pattern to the stitches you bound off, cast on 2 sts, work in pattern to the of the row.

My favorite method for casting those stitches back on is the knitted-on method, but backwards loop (single cast on) also looks nice.

On the next row, just work those two stitches back into your seed stitch as if they had never left.

Going forward with the sleeves:

  1. Make sure you circle only the numbers for your size and sleeve length in this section.  You don’t want to knit the long sleeve accidentally and have to rip it out, or knit your sleeve too short!
  2. Use your favorite increase along the sides of the sleeve.  Mine is usually a m1 increase and I like to mirror them m1left and m1right.  Whatever you use, do it one or two stitches in from the edge to make seaming easier.
  3. If you’re feeling brave – try two at a time!
